Connect with us

Music Releases

‘In Search Of Sunrise 19’ Mixed by Markus Schulz, Ilan Bluestone & Daniel Wanrooy



The beloved musical series In Search Of Sunrise has been launched by Tiësto in 1999 and subsequently helmed by fan favorite artists Richard Durand and most recently Markus Schulz, the series is now within touching distance of its milestone twentieth. Its third phase has been defined by a pronounced dynamic between its DJs. In Markus Schulz, you have your lynchpin, and then in close support genre progressives like Jerome Isma-Ae, Kryder, Gabriel & Dresden & last year Matt Fax, and classists including Kyau & Albert, Sunlounger, Andy Moor & Orkidea.

‘Sunrise’s dynamic is completed in 2023 by arch-Anjuna-ist Ilan Bluestone, and Daniel Wanrooy a man who’s recording career reaches almost as far back as ISOS itself. Alongside Markus, they’ve picked up the mix-mantle and auditioned tunes by the hundred, all the while asking themselves but one question: “is it Sunrise?”

As ever, that quest starts in their own backyards, with the three bringing much radiance from their respective studios. There’s been a fair degree of crate digging too, looking for inspirational deeper-cut tracks to melodically and harmonically remix into ‘Sunrise’s realm. The trio have also screened the latest from kindred studio spirits, all of which has been peerlessly mixed into three-hours and forty minutes of epic, atmospheric, day-breaking music.

When it comes to those post-peak clubbing hours, Markus Schulz has proved to be a masterful sun-up soundtracker. His sixth Search features plenty of his own Coldharbour brew, including “Rabbit Hole” Circus material like the x Sarah Warren “Light On” and (in its new In Search of Sunrise Remix form), the HALIENE-voiced “Death Of A Star.” There’s also first-listen Schulz material receiving their premieres, including the majestic likes of “Summer Of ‘99”, “Forgotten Element” and (new Daxson link-up) “Reverence”. Around those are a veritable wealth of new sonic treasure from operators including Matt Fax, KhoMha, Estiva & Mike EFEX.

Anjuna-to-the-max, it’ll surprise few to learn that Ilan Bluestone’s disc is ripe with produce from that particular quarter. Amongst those are Sunny Lax’s “Cerasus”, Boom Jinx, Nitrous Oxide & Einar K team-up “Breathing” and the Elysian trio’s “Light Years” and “Sparks In The Night”. Ilan’s also been in the ISOS remix swing, delivering treatments of Above & Beyond’s “Diving Out Of Love” & “Northern Soul”, as well as Chicane’s ‘Saltwater. You’ll also find his recent collabs with Oliver Smith (“Blue Eagle”) and Giuseppe Ottaviani (“Futuro”). And speaking of A&B, their ‘Spin Off’ from Tranquillity Base Vol.1 also plays a key part to his mix, as does Maor Levi’s reworking of Tiësto’s “In My Memory”.

And if all that doesn’t leave you feeling those first rays on your face, Daniel Wanrooy’s disc is here to make absolutely certain of it! He intros with his floor-fresh JES team-up, “We’ll Be Together”, before channeling even more of that ISOS vibe with his x BLR collab “Cielo”, and solo tracks “Terra Incognito” and “How Will I Know”. Further in are the latest from some other classic ‘Sunrise’ contributors, with Mark Norman, Jonas Steur and Cor Fijneman respectively supplying it “So it Begins”, “Solis” and “In Domo”. At the crest off Disc 3, Daniel touches the sun with some killer remixes of Kamaya Painters “Far From Over” and “Falling Back To You” from Delerium.

Overall this is another fantastic addition of the stellar In Search Of Sunrise series. These 3 artists capsulated the core essence of with In Search Of Sunrise should sound like. In Search Of Sunrise 19 is out now on all streaming platforms.


Mix 1 – Markus Schulz

01. Markus Schulz & Sarah de Warren – Light On
02. Markus Schulz – Summer Of ‘99
03. Matt Fax – Beyond Belief
04. KhoMha – Ancient Voices  
05. Jerome Isma-Ae & Alastor – String of Lights
06. Markus Schulz & Daxson – Reverence
07. Late Night Alumni – Beautiful (Myon x Hoten Remix)
08. Tim Besamusca – Neptunia (Club Mix)
09. ReDub – Utopia
10. Andain – Beautiful Things (Mike EFEX Remix)
11. Sunbeam – Outside World (Bart Skils & Weska Remix)
12. Thomas Lizzara – Traveller (Thomas Lizzara Techno Remix)
13. Estiva – Via Infinita
14. Victor Ruiz – Pura Vida
15. Markus Schulz – Forgotten Element
16. Daxson – When Tomorrow Comes
17. Robert Nickson – Sundown (Stoneface & Terminal Remix)
18. Markus Schulz & HALIENE – Death of a Star (Markus Schulz In Search of Sunrise Remix)

Mix 2 – Ilan Bluestone

01. Bonnie x Clyde – Another You (Ilan Bluestone Remix
02. Tiësto featuring Nicola Hitchcock – In My Memory (Maor Levi Remix) 
03. Adam Stark – Sciya
04. Chicane featuring Moya Brennan – Saltwater (Ilan Bluestone Remix)
05. Jonas Steur – Second Turn (Adam Stark Remix)
06. Sunny Lax – Cerasus
07. Ilan Bluestone – On Me
08. Boom Jinx & Nitrous Oxide & Einar K featuring Vintage & Morelli – Breathing
09. Above & Beyond – Diving Out Of Love (Ilan Bluestone Remix)
10. Ilan Bluestone & Oliver Smith – Blue Eagle
11. Elysian – Light Years (Club Mix)
12. Nourey & FOSTER – Meant To Be
13. Above & Beyond – Spin Off
14. Giuseppe Ottaviani & Ilan Bluestone – Futuro
15. Tom Fall – Guiding Light
16. Elysian – Sparks In The Night
17. Above & Beyond featuring Richard Bedford – Northern Soul (Ilan Bluestone Remix)

Mix 3 – Daniel Wanrooy

01. Daniel Wanrooy & JES – We’ll Be Together (Intro Mix)
02. BLR & Daniel Wanrooy – Cielo
03. Nutland & BL_NK featuring Rienk – Frozen Inside
04. Mark van Rijswijk – Laguna
05. Truetone – Losing Control
06. Mark Norman – So it Begins
07. Sherano & Amber Revival – Hit and Run
08. Daniel Wanrooy – Terra Incognita
09. Re:Locate & Simon Anthony – Ready
10. Jonas Steur – Solis (Estuera Mix)
11. Cor Fijneman – In Domo
12. Golden Sky – Forever (Aerofoil emix)
13. Daniel Wanrooy – How Will I Know
14. Tim Besamusca – Galaxy
15. Kamaya Painters – Far From Over (Daniel Wanrooy Remix)
16. JPL – In Our Youth
17. Delerium featuring Mimi Page – Falling Back To You (Daniel Wanrooy Remix)
18. Fonzerelli – Floating Through Time