Connect with us


The Nocturnal Times Top Electronic/Dance Albums 2023



As The Nocturnal Times nears our 10-year anniversary, we once again, proudly present our annual end-of-the-year recap. The year in review begins with The Nocturnal Times Top Electronic/Dance Albums of 2023. From those that garnered mainstream success and crossover appeal, to those up-and-coming and breakout artists, our selections celebrate good music. Showcasing the best of the best in electronic and dance music — and the sub-genres within — we proudly present over 100 of our favorite LPs of the year.

Kx5 – Kx5 [mau5trap/Arkade]

Sigala – Every Cloud – Silver Linings [Ministry Of Sound]

Tiësto – DRIVE [Musical Freedom Records/Atlantic Records]

MEDUZA – MEDUZA [Island Records/Cross Records]

Armin van Buuren – Feel Again [Armada Music]

Skrillex – Don’t Get Too Close [OWSLA/Atlantic Records]

Joel Corry – Another Friday Night [Warner Music UK/Perfect Havoc/Asylum Records]

Elderbrook – Little Love [Mine Recordings]

Romy – Mid Air [Young]

Barry Can’t Swim – When Will We Land? [Ninja Tune]

Flume – Things Don’t Always Go The Way You Plan [Future Classic] 

Anyma – Genesys [Anyma/Afterlife/Interscope Records]

Jungle – Volcano [Caiola Records/AWAL Recordings]

Snakehips – never worry [Helix Records]

Yotto – Growth [Odd One Out]

Aluna – MYCELiUM [Mad Decent]

SG Lewis – AudioLust & HigherLove [PMR Records]

The Chemical Brothers – For That Beautiful Feeling [EMI/Virgin Records]

CAMELPHAT – Spiritual Milk [When Stars Align]

Le Youth – About Us [This Never Happened]

Skrillex – Quest For Fire [OWSLA/Atlantic Records]

Showtek – 360 Yellow [Skink, The Music Group/Spinnin’ Records]

San Holo – EXISTENTIAL DANCE MUSIC [Helix Records/Payday Records]

Sultan + Shepard – Forever, Now [This Never Happened]

LP Giobbi – Light Places [Counter Records]

Gorgon City – Salvation [Astralwerks/Positiva/EMI]

Disclosure – Alchemy [Apollo Records/AWAL]

James Blake – Playing Robots Into Heaven [Republic Records/Polydor Records]

Lost Frequencies – Lets All Stand Together [Lost & Cie Music/Epic Amsterdam]

Dillon Francis – This Mixtape Is Fire Too [Astralwerks]

Sub Focus – Evolve [EMI]

Ric Wilson, Chromeo, A-Trak – CLUSTERFUNK [Free Disco/EMPIRE]

Lastlings – Perfect World [Rose Avenue Records]

ILLENIUM – ILLENIUM [Warner Records]

Robin Schulz – Pink [Warner Music Group Germany]

Golden Features – Sisyphus [Foreign Family Collective]

The Chainsmokers – Summertime Friends [Disruptor Records/Columbia Records]

Alan Walker – Walkerworld [MER Recordings]

Matoma – Love For The Beat [Love For The Beat]

Bakermat – From A Bakermat Point Of View [Big Top Records]

Flume – Arrived Anxious, Left Bored [Future Classic]

Overmono – Good Lies [XL Recordings]

Mathame – MEMO [Astralwerks]

GoldFish – If Summer Was A Sound [Armada Music]

M83 – Fantasy [Mute]

PinkPantheress – Heaven Knows [Warner Music UK]

Martin Solveig – Back To Life [Positiva/EMI]

P.O.S – Deeper Tales [Anjunabeats]

OTR – Be Quiet, They’re Listening [Astralwerks]

Joy (Anonymous) – Cult Classics [Astralwerks]

Emmit Fenn – How To Fly On The Ground [TH3RD BRAIN]

Marsh – Endless [Anjunadeep]

Andrew Rayel – Lifeline [Armada Music/Find Your Harmony]

CRi – Miracles [Anjunadeep]

Markus Schulz – The Rabbit Hole Circus [Black Hole Recordings]

Supershy – Happy Music [Beyond The Groove]

CloZee – Microworlds [Odyzey Music]

Amtrac – Extra Time [OPENERS]

Steve Aoki – Hiroquest 2: Double Helix [Ultra/Dim Mak]

Diplo pres. Thomas Wesley – Chapter 2: Swamp Savant [Mad Decent/Columbia Records]

Kölsch – I Talk To Water [Kompakt]

ALPHA 9 – New Horizons [Anjunabeats]

Midnight Kids – The Long Way Home [Seeking Blue Records]

William Black – The Nature Of Hope [Lowly]

Moon Boots – Ride Away [Anjunadeep]

Icona Pop – Club Romantech [TEN/Ultra Records]

ARMNHMR – Together As One [Monstercat]

Ganja White Night – Unity [SubCarbon]

pluko – BLEACH [Hi-Fi] [SPLENDID SOCIETY/Venice Music]

anamē – Beautiful World [Anjunabeats]

Folamour – Manifesto [FHUO/Sony Music Entertainment France]

Keys N Krates – IN:TENSION [Last Gang Records/MNRK Music Group]

Apashe – Antagonist [Disques Kannibalen/Majestic Collective]

DROELOE – The Art Of Change [DROELOE]

Habstrakt – Heritage [Distorted Reality]

Tensnake – Stimulate [True Romance/Armada Music]

AmPm – Traveling Without Moving [A.S.A.B/PLAY RECORDS]

DJ Shadow – Action Adventure [Reconstruction Productions/Mass Appeal Records]

Daily Bread – Invisible Cinema [Philos Records]

Everything But the Girl – Fuse [Buzzin’ Fly Records/Virgin Music Group]

KAYTRANADA & Animé – KAYTRAMINÉ [Venice Music]

Cheat Codes – One Night In Nashville [DashGo]

Chicane – Nevertheless [Armada Music/Modena Records]

Estiva – Infinita [Colorize/Enhanced Music]

Karen Harding – Take Me Somewhere [Ultra Records]

Au5 – Bridges Between [Ophelia]

ISOxo – kidsgonemad! [88rising Records]

Jayda G – Guy [Ninja Tune]

AC Slater – Together [Night Bass Records]

EMBRZ – In Our Own Way [This Never Happened]

Depeche Mode – Momento Mori [Columbia Records, Mute]


Spencer Brown – Equanimity [Diviine]

JVNA – Play With You [Violet Arrow]

Felix Cartal – Into Sunsets [Physical Presents]

Disco Fries – Another World [Liftoff Recordings]

Last Heroes – All I See, You See Me [Lowly]

Kylie Minogue – Tension [BMG]

RAYE – My 21st Century Blues [Human Re Sources]

Mord Fustang – NATURE OVER FORM [Dawn of Light]

Sofia Kourtesis – Madres [Ninja Tune]

James Holden – Imagine This Is a High Dimensional Space of All Possibilities [Border Community]

SBTRKT – The Rat Road [Save Yourself/AWAL Recordings]

RL GRIME – PLAY:GRID [Sable Valley Records]

Fred again.., Brian Eno – Secret Life Text Records]

Orbital – Optical Delusion [Orbital Recordings]

Marshmello – Sugar Papi [Sony Music Entertainment US Latin/Joytime Collective]

Moby – Resound NYC [Little Idiot/Deutsche Grammophon]

Slayyyter – STARFUCKER [Slayyyter/FADER Label]

Young Fathers – Heavy Heavy [Ninja Tune]

Alison Goldfrapp – The Love Invention [BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited]

Yaeji – With a Hammer [XL Recordings]

Sonma – Satellites [Black Hole Recordings]

Ten City, Marshall Jefferson – Love Is Love [Helix Records/Payday Records]

G Jones – Paths [Illusory Records]

ALIGN – Endless Summer [Lowly]

Róisín Murphy, DJ Koze – Hit Parade [Ninja Tune]

KOAN Sound – Led by Ancient Light [Shoshin]

BT – The Secret Language of Trees [Monstercat Silk]

Whyte Fang – GENESIS [FMU Records]

Skream – Skreamizm 8 [Skreamizm/Platoon]

Dillion Francis presents DJ Hanzel – anti everything [One Deeper Records]

Jauz – WRATCH OF THE WICKED [Bite This!]

Will Sparks – Accepted Concept [CLUBWRK/Teamwrk Records]

Sono – In The Haze [Kontor Records]

Nitepunk – HUMAN [Hard Recs]

Black Tiger Sex Machine – Portals [Kannibalen Records]

Medasin – Always in a Hurry [Medasin]

AOBeats – PraXis [Moving Castle]

John Tejada – Resound [Palette Recordings]

Lauren Mia – Re:Birth [Ear Porn Music]

Jessie Ware – That! Feels Good! [EMI]

Eprom – Syntheism [Square Records]

Kah-Lo – Pain/Pleasure [Epic Records]

Julian Cross – Stories of the Nebula [WALL Recordings]

Emma Hewitt – Ghost Of The Light [Black Hole Recordings]

KSHMR – KARAM [Mass Appeal India/Dharma Worldwide]

Explosions in the Sky – End [Temporary Residence Limited]

DIESEL/Shaquille O’Neal – GORILLA WARFARE [Monstercat]

Ladytron – Time’s Arrow [Ladytron Limited/Cooking Vinyl Limited]

Pretty Girl – One Night, One Time [Steel City Dance Discs]

1788-L – ALPHA+ [mau5trap]

Lil Texas – TOO FAST [TEXCORE/Create Music Group)

Moby – Ambient 23 [mobyambient]